Malasadas

At only 90 cents each, I got two, knowing I’ll save one for tomorrow morning.

Jason got the original, white sugar, while I got cinnamon and the flavor of the month, lilikoi (passion fruit). The malasadas were warm and doughy, like big doughnuts back home, but without the hole in the middle. Delicious.

The lilikoi filled one had a bright yellow gooey mixture, a little bit too sweet for my liking and it tasted artificial. I also didn’t like how there was so much filling. Each small bite came with a big ooze of custard, too messy for me.

110811_leonards7

Leonard’s malasadas lived up to my standards, from hearing my friend’s story just once. If only there was a Leonard’s across the street back home, they would be the perfect start to any morning.

Leave a Reply

