Champagne + Oysters

My next stop for our anniversary celebration was a surprise visit to Hog Island Oyster Co. in Tomales Bay.

When I was little, my parents would take me to Drakes Bay Oysters (formerly Johnson's Oysters). I hated these trips because I was never a fan of oysters and hated the slimy texture. I'd sit on the bench, while my entire family slurped oysters.

Jason and I have been slowly adapting to the taste of oysters, so I knew a farm would be a great place to visit and enjoy extremely fresh oysters. Plus, Jason recently got a new car, so I figured he'd enjoy the hour and half drive through the windy roads of Marin County.

Not knowing what to expect, we approached the stand and got a dozen oysters. They were unfortunately out of my favorite, kumamoto (smaller type), so we got sweetwater.

To our surprise, we had to shuck all dozen ourselves. We got a quick tutorial on how to shuck and Jason fortunately nailed it down. He was a shucking pro, within minutes.

The sweetwater was amazing, definitely the best oysters I've ever had. It can't get any fresher than this. The oysters are literally pulled from the bay and sold at the stand. As the name suggests, the oysters were sweet with a subtle briny taste. Delicious and even better when washed down with champagne.

We both loved Hog Island and would certainly go back to have this experience again.

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

