Roaming Around in Chicago

Xoco. Frontera. Hot Doug's. Kuma's Corner.

Fail. Fail. Fail and…..fail.

These four were my top restaurants to try in Chicago and unfortunately, I went during holiday season, so they were closed. I did go to Kuma's, but the wait was four hours. Four hours?! And it wasn't even peak time. We got there around 4, so we wouldn't have dinner until 8?! I've never waited THAT long for food. It didn't help that Jason and I were hungry, so we couldn't leave and come back.

On my backup list was Portillo's.

This place was suppose to have one of the best Chicago style hot dogs and I was anxious to try it. They were also known for their Italian beef. It was tempting to order both (when am I ever going to be in Chicago again, right?), but I didn't want to be a fatty, so I chose the Italian beef, knowing Jason was getting the hot dog.

Oh my.

Best beef sandwich I've ever had.

The extra soft French bread was filled with thinly sliced beef (cooked in beef broth and spices), onions and upon request, sweet hot peppers. It was unbelievably juicy and greasy, most likely the reason why I loved it so much. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I literally melted at the first bite. Delicious.

I was pretty full after eating only 3/4 of the sandwich, but I knew I had to take a bite of Jason's Chicago style hot dog. It came with mustard, chopped onions, relish, sliced tomatoes, kosher pickle and peppers piled on a steamed poppy seed bun. I typically hate the first two ingredients, but I have to try everything at least once. All the ingredients sound weird, but they compliment each other quite well. The sausage was crisp and juicy.

Loved Portillo's.

A very Jetson-like McDonald's was across the street. It was huge with glass windows and had a unique structure.

Afterwards, we did some sightseeing at the mesmerizing and gorgeous Cloud Gate, Millennium Park and Frank Gehry's Pavilion. Chicago has great architecture!

Loving every single minute of Chicago, even though it's below freezing!

Posted via email from i like to eat.

2 Responses to “Roaming Around in Chicago”

  1. Lan Says:

    If you have more time, check out Hopleaf, Publican, and/or Piece.

Leave a Reply

