Things to Try: Dragon Fruit

I noticed that Ranch 99 (Asian market) sells pitaya, also called dragon fruit, but I never had the guts to buy them. I'm not sure why. They don't look THAT intimidating.

I was over at my parents house for dinner and saw the brightly colored fruit sitting on the kitchen counter. I was so surprised. My mom was on the same curiosity wave length as me. She made a salad (next post), but I was interested in opening and discovering the fruit myself.

The dragon fruit's exterior skin feels like rubber, characteristics of its cacti species. The kiwi-like inside has a soft, white flesh and is filled with an unbelievable amount of black seeds. It's quite beautiful with the contrast of black and white, all encased in magenta.

I used a large spoon to scoop out the flesh and tried a piece. Hmm, not exactly as I thought it would taste. It was bland. I thought it would taste very sweet, like candy. The fruit was definitely ripe, so maybe it's just not in season? Not sure what it was, but I sprinkled a little bit of sugar to help the flavor. Some honey would help too.

I'm going to have to try this fruit again. Hopefully, I'll choose one with a sweeter taste (it doesn't help the fruit comes packaged! how can I smell the fruit?) and maybe try making ice cream or smoothies. Yum!

One year ago: Bacon and….Chicken?

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

