Porchetta Sandwich

I lived with a girl named Emily that was a sous chef at Ame.

Ame, my friends. Michelin rated Ame.

Food there is out of this world. And even better when you know the chef. ;)

I moved out and lost contact with her, but randomly thought of her one day. Texted her and found out she was no longer at Ame, but working at a new place called Il Cane Rosso in the Ferry Building. I was shocked to hear she was at the Ferry Building, considering I work only three blocks away and visit it almost every week – just never ran into her.

I swung by Il Cane Rosso and ordered their number one seller, porchetta sandwich. Holy cow, that thing's meaty and delicious. The pork shoulder was tender, moist and full of flavor. It looks gorgeous (image 3) and so yummy. The bread was soft with a red pluot mostarda spread (tasted kind of like plum jam) and mustard greens. I could only eat half of the sandwich – too much for one sitting.

Knowing someone that works in the kitchen often leads to hook ups. And this time was no different. My ex-roomie gave me a heirloom tomato salad with sel gris (sea salt), basil, balsamic reduction and extra virgin olive oil. How can something so simple be so amazing?

I'll definitely be vising Il Cane Rosso again, with or without a hook up. Their menu changes daily, so be sure to check out their site.

See and download the full gallery on posterous

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

