Temaki

I was craving for some temaki, Japanese for hand rolls. I first experienced the make-your-own-sushi at Jason's parents house and have been hooked since.

You can have anything you want. But, I typically have an assortment of avocado, imitation crab meat, cucumber, pickled radish (takuan), sweet egg (tamagoyaki) and crab meat mixed with Kewpie. To complete this meal, I made some sushi rice and cut the seaweed sheets into fours.

When I eat this, I don't use any fancy bamboo mats. We're making hand rolls, not sushi rolls, so we don't need to get too technical. All I do is have the seaweed sheet in my palm, put a little bit of rice, fill it with some ingredients, fold it like a burrito (true temaki is rolled into a cone, but I do a burrito for ease) and dip it into soy sauce and wasabi.

The meal takes some time to prepare with all the chopping, but it's an enjoyable and light meal. Plus, you can have fun with experimenting different ingredients to use.

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

