Mushroom Noodles

My previous mushroom experience was fun and I wanted to play with them again. Plus, Ranch 99 (Asian supermarket) was having a promotion of $1 packaged mushrooms. I had to take full advantage of this special and buy many types of mushrooms.

I bought king oyster, hen of the woods and white beech mushrooms. I wasn't sure of their texture when cooked, but I liked the interesting different shapes.

I would have preferred to use Japanese noodles, but I didn't have any, so spaghetti was used. While the pasta was cooking in its own pot, I sautéed all the mushrooms in garlic, salt, pepper and olive oil until tender. When the pasta was done, I added it to the mushroom mixture and poured some Chinese bottled sauce (it's like oyster sauce but much thinner).

This was a really simple dish with different textures of mushrooms. I liked the hen of the woods the least. It didn't have too much flavor and was really light in texture.

Buddy Mari has a mushroom farm at her place. I think it'd be cool to have one and be able to grow my own. But, I unfortunately don't have a green thumb, the plants I have now are dying…

See and download the full gallery on posterous

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

