Street Food

Thursday's Farmers Market at the Ferry Building has gotten so much better. Instead of just having purveyors sell the freshest produce, the market has latched onto the street food craze and now offers an array of food booths.

As I was walking back and forth, trying to decide upon a booth, I saw Namu was quite popular, but not so popular that I would have to wait in a 20 person deep line (ala Roli Roti). Namu serves Japanese Korean food and I saw Korean Tacos on the menu. My thoughts instantly flashed back to LA, experiencing delicious Kogi (see post). I knew I had to try Namu's version.

By the time it was my turn to order, they ran out of Korean Tacos. Darn it, so disappointed!

I ended up ordering okonomiyaki, a Japanese style pancake filled with seafood and vegetables. The dish was smothered with Tonkatsu sauce, Kewpie and topped with bonito flakes. For an extra dollar, a sunny egg was placed on top of the pancake.

Namu's okonomiyaki had the prefect ratio of batter and filling. The batter was light and crisp, but also extra tasty when the yolk was popped.

It was satisfying and I'm determined to try the Korean Tacos. Can't wait until next week!

See and download the full gallery on posterous

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

