Mushroom Galore

I've always wanted to do some sort of mushroom stir-fry. I went to the store and bought a few types of mushrooms – beech, enoki and cremini. I should have bought more varieties, but this was my first time and I wanted to do a trial before I go all out.

The beech mushrooms (image 1) were so pretty. It came packaged in a small plastic wrap. There are also white versions, but I went the brown route for more color. Enoki mushrooms (image 3) are my favorite for hot pots, soups and other broth-y types of meals, so I was a little excited to see how they'd taste stir fried. Lastly, creminis, they're nothing special, so I didn't take a picture of them. They're like white button mushrooms but brown.

I didn't cook them in any crazy way, just sauteed them with olive oil, salt and pepper. The enokis were a little bit hard to distribute while cooking, since they're skinny and bunched up, but it's still not a difficult task. This dish is easy to cook and only takes a few minutes for the mushrooms to become soft.

The beech and creminis tasted like your typical mushrooms – nutty with a mild earthiness. While the enokis had a nice crunchy texture (not super crunchy like cereal), but much crunchier than the others.

I served my mushroom dish with rice, but it'd also be great in pasta. Mushroom pasta with a sesame sauce, perhaps?

See and download the full gallery on posterous

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

