Fish + Chips

Friday's meal was surprise, surprise, lunch from Gap's 7th floor cafeteria once again. Ugh, it's just so easy to take the elevator up to get food…..

The special was cornmeal crusted fish with chips and coleslaw. I was quite excited for this dish since I love fish and chips and I've never had it cornmeal crusted. What. a. disappointment. The fish was over fried, causing it to be way too dry. The fries were OK, could have been crispier. The coleslaw? Not the kind I like. It tasted like they added ketchup (I swear it's not because I have ketchup next to it!) and was slightly warm. It wasn't cold enough. Coleslaw needs to be cold!

So much potential, kudos to the chefs that fried the fish and chips on the spot, but it just didn't work at all.

The best I've had is at Picadilly Fish & Chips on Polk x Pine. They've been there forever and it's delicious! Moist, juicy fish covered in a thin crispy golden batter. Yumm… Now that I think about it, it's kind of sad that I went to England several years ago and don't remember the fish and chips. I had authentic fish and chips and can't remember! Booo…. I guess that means I have to go back! ;)

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

