Beef + Potatoes

I've been cooking at home a lot more recently. Yay for me! :D

I didn't know what to make one night and had a few random ingredients hanging around my house, so I threw it all together, hoping it'd end up good. And it did. Success!

I sautéed some ground beef in olive oil, salt, pepper and thyme. In a baking dish, I put the cooked beef as the first layer and then smothered it with canned condensed mushroom soup (mixed with 1.5 cups of milk).

I cut oven cooking time in half by boiling the sliced potatoes first. When it was just about ready, I put the slices on top of the soup mixture. As the last layer, I sprinkled cheese to cover the entire top.

I baked it in the oven on the highest rack at 375 until the cheese was a golden brown (about 10 minutes).

This dish is very easy to cook and you only need a few ingredients. It's a simple, weekday meal that can be whipped up quickly.

For dessert, I still had some almond pudding left from the previous night, so I jazzed it up with fresh fruit. I didn't make the pudding from scratch, it was a store bought mixture. It's not technically pudding, it has more of a gelatin consistency. The powdered mixture can be bought at any Asian market. Sorry, I threw away the box, not thinking I'd need a photo, but next time, I will.

I enjoyed cooking and it's definitely satisfying when it turns out good. :)

See and download the full gallery on posterous

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

