Friday Food Frenzy

It was my creative director's birthday on Friday, so a colleague brought some delicious, sugar-filled donuts for breakfast. The box of goodies contained glazed, old fashioned, chocolate covered and crumbled. I took the crumbled and oh my, it was yummy. I haven't had a donut in a long time, so it tasted satisfying. But, at the same time, unhealthy. :X

For lunch, my cross-functional team left the office for a team building event. We decided to go to Daly City for lunch at L&L Hawaiian Barbecue and bowling. I didn't stay for bowling since I had to go back to the office, but I ate lunch with them at L&L.

L&L is a Hawaiian fast food restaurant. The menu is filled with all sorts of Hawaiian originals such as lau lau, barbecued short ribs/chicken/beef, katsu (breaded chicken, like the Japanese version), saimen (noodles), Kahlua pork and macaroni salad.

At any Hawaiian restaurant, I usually get the local favorite, "Loco Moco." It's a heavy meal with 2 hamburger patties, 2 eggs, rice and macaroni salad – all smothered with brown gravy. I smartly enough, ordered the mini version that was half the size. It came with only 1 patty, 1 egg, rice and macaroni salad. It was comforting, although, again, like the donut, felt a little unhealthy.

The little plastic cup next to my meal is called "hapai" or coconut pudding. It was only a dollar and it sure tasted cheap. :X It tasted like fake coconut and I knew it was made from coconut pudding powder. Oh well, what did I expect at a fast food chain?

And for dinner….see next post. :) This one's getting quite long.

See and download the full gallery on posterous

Posted via email from i like to eat.

Leave a Reply

